Social Action Committee’s rally for protesting the special provision in the proposed Child Marriage Restrain Act-2016

By on February 2, 2017
BMP Movement 1

The platform of 69 women, Human rights and Development organizations- Social Action Committee organized a rally for protesting the special provision in the proposed Child Marriage Restrain Act- 2016 on 18th January, 2017 at Central Shahid Minar premises. Ayesha Khanam President of Bangladesh Mahila Parishad  chaired the program . Among others Ad Salma Ali, Executive Director BNWLA, Rokeya Kabir Executive Director BNPS, Shaheen Anam, Executive Director, Manusher Jonno Foundation, Zakia K. Hasan, President Women for women, Farah Kabir, Country Director, Action Aid Bangladesh, Rasheda. K. Chowdhury Executive Director, CAMPE, Ranjan Karmaker Executive Director Steps Towards Development, Ad Rawshan Jahan Parveen Senior Deputy Director  ASK, Nasima Akhter Jolly from Child Rights Advocacy Forum, Selina Ahmed, Executive Director  Acid Survivors Foundation, Khushi Kabir, Coordinator of Nizera Kari, Chanchana Chakma, President of Hill women’s Federation, Marzina Ahmed from NFOWD, Moni Rani Das, President of Dolit Nari Forum, Nasimun Ara Huq from Nari Sangbadik Kendra, Anna Menz  Director of BRAC and young girls spoke in the program.  Jinat ara Huq from We can Alliance presented the  declaration of the Rally.

The eminent right workers  said that the special provision of the proposed Child Marriage  Retrain Act -2016, which allows marriageable age for females before18 will not only encourage child marriage but also affect children’s right and women empowerment. Hundreds of girls, guardians and rights activists participated in the event. Chiroranjan Sarker from BRAC conducted the program.

BMP Movement 4

BMP Movement 2

BMP Movement 3

About Bangladesh Mahila Parishad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>